Pakistan level the series in Dublin against Ireland

97 Repoter: 97author

Publish : 1 month ago Update: 1 second ago
Pakistan level the series in Dublin against Ireland

Pakistan level the series in Dublin against Ireland

Pakistan level the series in Dublin against Ireland

In the first match of the three-match T20I series against Ireland, Pakistan suffered a defeat in Dublin. However, the team that stumbled in the first match didn't repeat the mistake in the second match. Riding on a big run chase, Babar Azam's team secured victory, although Babar himself returned empty-handed.

Winning the toss, Pakistan opted to bowl first against Ireland. Despite both openers of Ireland touching double figures, they couldn't build a substantial innings. Lorcan Tucker scored 51 runs off 34 balls. Harry Tector contributed with 32 runs off 28 balls.

Towards the end, Curtis Campher (22 off 13 balls), George Dockrell (15 off 8 balls), and Gareth Delany (28* off 10 balls) propelled Ireland to a total of 193 runs. Losing 7 wickets in 20 overs, the Irish team scored 193 runs.

On behalf of Pakistan, Shaheen Shah Afridi took 3 wickets, conceding 49 runs in 4 overs. Abbas Afridi grabbed 2 wickets, while Mohammad Amir and Naseem Shah took one wicket each.

In reply, Pakistan lost opener Saim Ayub early. He scored 6 runs off 3 balls. Babar Azam also returned to the pavilion without scoring any runs after facing 4 balls. After losing 2 wickets for 13 runs, Mohammad Rizwan and Fakhar Zaman formed a partnership of 140 runs, leading the team towards victory.

Fakhar Zaman got out after scoring 78 runs off 40 balls with 6 fours and 6 sixes. Mohammad Rizwan remained unbeaten with 75 runs off 46 balls with 6 fours and 4 sixes. At the end, Azam Khan scored 30 runs off 10 balls with 1 four and 4 sixes, steering Pakistan to the target with 3 wickets down in 16.5 overs.

Mark Adair, Graham Hume, and Ben White took 1 wicket each for Ireland.

The third and final T20I match of the series will be played on May 14, at 8:00 PM Bangladesh time.